Who's who in Scottish Labour's executive committee election race?

Your Red Robin guide to who's who in race for Labour's Scottish Executive Committee [SEC]. 

Eight seats are open for election to the influential committee which oversees how the party is run in Scotland. As well as the party leadership and trade union representatives, members can elect two representatives from each region.

Glasgow and Central Scotland
From the left slate, Angela Feeney, an NHS worker and election candidate, joins Stephen Low, a Unison staffer and long-time Labour left campaigner. 
Opposing them are James Adams, director of the Royal National Institute of Blind People [RNIB] Scotland, and Suzan King, secretary of Glasgow Southside CLP. 
West of Scotland & Mid Scotland and Fife
Ex-MSP Cara Hilton and Liam Thomson, chair of Mid Scotland and Fife Campaign for Socialism [CfS] are seeking election from the left challenged by long-time executive committee candidate Johanna Baxter and Paul Cassidy.
North East Scotland & Highlands and Islands
Student activist Lina Nass, from Aberdeen, and lecturer Marion Sporing make up the left slate in the region, facing them are longtime SEC member Linda Stewart and Lynn Thomson. 
Lothian & South Scotland
Edinburgh University rector Ann Henderson and college lecturer Mike Cowley make up the left challenge in the region, with Edinburgh councillor Professor Scott Arthur and party member Fiona Dugdale also looking for a spot on the influential committee. 
Members have until 1 March at mid-day to vote, with results expected by 4 March in time for the party's Spring 2019 conference.


Showing 7 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.